Skip to toolbar

Arsenal Win Their 14th Trophy After Aubameyang dust Chelsea

Spread the love

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang was Arsenal’s hero once again as the Gunners beat Chelsea 2-1 in Saturday’s FA Cup final.

The Gabonese forward responded to Christian Pulisic’s early opener with a penalty to level and a beautiful wriggle and finish for Arsenal’s winner. Chelsea will feel they were out of luck at Wembley, as captain Cesar Azpilicueta and Pulisic were forced to leave the action with hamstring injuries and Mateo Kovacic was controversially dismissed for a second yellow card.

Arsenal Win Their 14th Trophy After Aubameyang dust Chelsea

Arsenal extended their record to 14 FA Cup triumphs with the win, and offered tangible evidence that they are headed in the right direction under manager Mikel Arteta.

Arteta placed his trust in Ainsley Maitland-Niles, rather than Bukayo Saka, at left wing-back and recalled Hector Bellerin to man the other flank. Mesut Ozil was left out of another matchday squad.

How many times Arsenal with FA Cup

Willian was a surprise absentee in Frank Lampard’s 20-man party while N’Golo Kantewas on the bench. Willy Caballero kept his place over Kepa Arrizabalaga in the Chelsea goal, meaning he only missed the round-of-16 affair with Liverpool during the Blues’ FA Cup run.

Arsenal’s Years Of Winning Of The FA Cup Trophy

1930 – Arsenal 2-0 Huddersfield
1936 – Arsenal 1-0 Sheffield United
1950 – Arsenal 2-0 Liverpool
1971 – Arsenal 2-1 Liverpool
1979 – Arsenal 3-2 Manchester United
1993 – Arsenal 2-1 Sheffield Wednesday
1998 – Arsenal 2-0 Newcastle
2002 – Arsenal 2-0 Chelsea
2003 – Arsenal 1-0 Southampton
2005 – Arsenal 0-0 Manchester United (5-4 on penalties)
2014 – Arsenal 3-2 Hull City
2015 – Arsenal 4-0 Aston Villa
2017 – Arsenal 2-1 Chelsea
2020 – Arsenal 2-1 Chelsea


Leave a Reply