Who won the first Barclays Premier League season?

Who won the first Barclays Premier League season?

Spread the love

Years before the creation of The English Premier League, the Football League First Division is a former division of the Football League in England then and it was from 1888 to 1992, it was the top tier division in the English football league system.

On 27 May 1992, the Barclays Premier League changed into officially formed, with the first fixtures to be played on 15 August 1992. The brand new league could involve the 19th maximum placed teams in that season’s First Division as well as the champions, runners-up and playoff winners from the Second Division.


First FA Premier League winner

Manchester United ended a 26-year-wait for a top-flight crown and became the inaugural Premier League champions via a margin of 10 points over the runner-up Aston Villa. Man Utd win the first Premier League title to commence an illustrious period for the club.

The arrival of Eric Cantona from Leeds United for £1.2 million in late November helped raise United’s title challenge, after they had been as low as tenth in the league rapidly before. Cantona’s arrival got here after new striker Dion Dublin had been ruled out for six months with a damaged leg, and Cantona used to be the catalyst in United’s triumph.

Cantona’s departure additionally coincided with a downturn in fortunes for Leeds, who failed to win an away game all season as they finished 17th.

For United, Mark Hughes topped the goalscoring charts with 15 league goals, whilst the fantastic Ryan Giggs was voted PFA Young Player of the Year for the 2nd 12 months in succession. Steve Bruce was United’s captain for a whole lot of the season, as the veteran Bryan Robson neglected many games due to injury. The arrival of Eric Cantona noticed former striker Brian McClair switched into midfield, similarly limiting Robson’s first team chances.

ChampionsManchester United
Top goalscorer22: Teddy Sheringham (NFO/TOT)
Top assists16: Eric Cantona (LEE/MUN)

1992–93 FA Premier League table

Manchester United 1992-93 Squad

1Peter SchmeichelDenmark18/11/1963
13Les SealeyEngland29/09/1957
25Gary WalshEngland21/03/1968
15Clayton BlackmoreWales23/09/1964
4Steve BruceEngland31/12/1960
Brian CareyIreland31/05/1968
3Denis IrwinIreland31/10/1965
Lee MartinEngland05/02/1968
21Pat McGibbonNorthern Ireland06/09/1973
Colin MurdockNorthern Ireland02/07/1975
27Gary NevilleEngland18/02/1975
6Gary PallisterEngland30/06/1965
2Paul ParkerEngland04/04/1964
32Neil WhitworthEngland12/04/1972
Russell BeardsmoreEngland28/09/1968
19Nicky ButtEngland21/01/1975
Darren FergusonScotland09/02/1972
11Ryan GiggsWales29/11/1973
Paul InceEngland21/10/1967
Andrey KanchelskisRussia23/01/1969
Giuliano MaioranaEngland18/04/1969
23Mike PhelanEngland24/09/1962
12Bryan RobsonEngland11/01/1957
24Paul ScholesEngland16/11/1974
Lee SharpeEngland27/05/1971
7Éric CantonaFrance24/05/1966
20Dion DublinEngland22/04/1969
Keith GillespieNorthern Ireland18/02/1975
10Mark HughesWales01/11/1963
9Brian McClairScotland08/12/1963
Colin McKeeScotland22/08/1973
Alex FergusonScotland31/12/1941

Premier League winners list since 1992 till date

1992-93- Man United
1993-94- Man United
1994-95- Blackburn Rovers
1995-96- Man United
1996-97- Man United
1997-98- Arsenal
1998-99- Man United
1999-00- Man United
2000-01- Man United
2001-02- Arsenal
2002-03- Man United
2003-04- Arsenal
2004-05- Chelsea
2005-06- Chelsea
2006-07- Man United
2007-08- Man United
2008-09- Man United
2009-10- Chelsea
2010-11- Man United
2011-12 Manchester City
2012-13 Man United
2013-14 Manchester City
2014-15 Chelsea
2015-16 Leicester City
2016-17 Chelsea
2017-18 Manchester City
2018-19 Manchester City
2019-20 Liverpool


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *